Help! My keg pours nothing but foam

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andycr

Reaction score
I have a keg with 3' or so of line and a picnic tap. It's been carbing for about 4 days now, with a few hours at 27 PSI followed by the remainder at serving PSI of around 11.

The beer comes out as nothing but foam. As a result, it's still almost flat - all the CO2 simply comes out of solution during the pour, and you get an entire glassful of foam you have to wait to drink. There's no foam in the lines - it runs clear there.

I'm completely new to kegging - what am I doing wrong?

first off a few hours at 27 psi won't do much for carbonation, a couple days at that pressure then release the pressure to serving would help more. secondly your beer line is probably too short. it's recommended to use at least 5 feet but you'll see a lot of people running 10 feet of beer line (me included)

Picnic taps suck. When I used mine I had to drop the serving pressure to like 3psi.