Help me pick out some equipment!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeffries55

Reaction score
Well, exactly as the title says! I started brewing all-grain (yeah, jumped right into it with a keggle) in March/May of this year and have bottled 61 gallons ytd. Over that time I've made a lot of good beer, and a lot of crappy beer.. I've got a good 10 gal coolman cooler mashtun with FB and blichmann valve/sparge head, so my focus now is on fine tuning everything else so that I'm consistently making good beer!

Firstly, I don't have temperature control... I'm slightly embarrassed to admit how much beer I've made without it, as my last few brews turned out god-aweful (medicinal, alcohol, fusel messes). My second issue i've been dealing with has been under-pitching the yeasties (my starters havent been sufficient i've learned after talking to the guys at Madtree).

With that said, I'm looking for advice & suggestions on the following:

1. Temperature Control - Controller
  2. Freezer (Anyone have recommendations on what size fits at least two or maybe even three 5 gallon ale pails?)
  3. Plate Chiller (Therminator?)
  4. Pump (http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/the-steelhead-pump.html)
  5. Kegging Equipment (the whole nine yards.. are ball lock better? New or reconditioned?)