Help me decide on conical(s) for 1bbl

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ApertureBrewing

Reaction score
Hi all,

Long time lurker here but I don't post much. I am in the process of upgrading my homebrew system to a 1bbl Blichmannn electric setup (Kal clone). I'm also fairly new to conicals and have done a TON of reading on them but have still not made up my mind. In considering how to ferment 30 gallons of product, I've gone back and forth between buying the 1bbl Blichmann (42 gallons) or getting two smaller conicals, perhaps the Blichmann 27 gallon or even the 22 gallon Brewhemoth. Ultimately I don't have a problem forking over the money for the Blichmann gear **if** it's worth the extra dough. I'm having trouble seeing why I should spend more in this case.

Some questions I have:

1. If I buy the Brewhemoth, what else do I need to purchase to make life easier? Do they come with valves?

2. Do either the Blichmanns or Brewhemoths fit better for an upright fridge? If I get two of them I may just build something instead of getting 2 fridges...

3. I am open to other suggestions. Any others I should consider?

I have a brewhemoth, and I really like it. I use the internal coil to hold temps so I don't know how easy it is to get it into a fridge. It does not come with valves. The thing that I like about them compared to Blichmanns are welded over weldless and the ability to pressure ferment and transfer. I hook up a plate filter and transfer under pressure to a purged keg. O2 never comes in contact with my beer. However, both are quality fermentors.

Cfrazier, what are you doing for temp control on the outside? I would love to cool this way but I'm still at a loss for what to do during Michigan winters (still need to heat).