Hello from Southern Maryland/DC

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MicMurphy

Reaction score
So this is long overdue (as I have been using homebrewtalk.com for awhile), but hello! My name is Mic, I live in Southern Maryland and work at a top regional theater in Washington DC. I have been brewing for 6 years total, however I took about 3 years off in the middle as I didn't have the time. I have brewed extract for most of that time, but have recently switched to all grain. I am using a coleman extreme as a mash tun and my old brew kettle with a hot water heater element as a hot liquor tank. I have also built a temperature controlled fermentation chamber as well as a keezer (as one of the main reasons I stopped brewing to begin with was the hassle of bottling). I am always asking questions and doing research in order to make better beers, so thanks in advance for any wisdom you may impart. Hopefully I can return the favor! Thanks!

Welcome back to brewing. All grain and kegging are definite plusses to stay with it for a long time.

Thanks!

It was funny, I approached my wife with "I want to start brewing again, but I'm gonna need to put some money into it...I'm not bottling".... She was on board once I explained to her we would have cold beer on tap.

The second time around was so much better. I read and researched and began to actually understand the process as opposed to following a set of instructions from a kit. After I began to make good beers, all grain was the next logical step... although I did again have to convince my wife to let me spend the money. She was totally on board with the investment after she was able to taste my first attempt straight from a tap.....