Hello from Quebec, Canada

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stef1966

Reaction score
Hello beer fellow enthusiasts!

I am a musician from Quebec who also loves home brewing.

Been "initiated" to this fine art last year from my neighbor who kindly showed me the basics and what i needed to buy in order to start into all of this.

Am brewing Ales most of the times, with various liquid yeast strands from the White labs Co.

I am using malt syrup, added whole grains that I mash, hops pellets, orange peels, coriander up to various degrees depending on the taste I try to achieve of course.

I occasionally add various extra sugars in moderation of course just for the sakes of variety, Honey, corn syrup, Brown sugar. (boosts OG a little of course)

I don't really take notes about recipes, just go by feel approximately.
(of course, some blatant mistakes are unforgettable, so we live and we learn).
with trial and errors i have come to make brews i truly enjoy.

Currently making a kind of "Braggott" a mix of Honey and Malt syrup and other stuff.

Also some pale Ale using Belgian Golden yeast in the secondary.

Glad to be among this fine community! :mug:

Hey Stef, welcome aboard! Sounds like you're off to a really good start.

Don't forget to put your location in your profile. You can't give the secret handshake over the interwebs.

Hello bradsul!

Well i forgot to mention my first batch was from a canned kit.
Turned out ok cause it's easy stuff, sort of a beginner's enthusiasm primer if we can say that.

Then i moved to something more rewarding in many ways. :)

My first 3 batches were canned kits too, I still count them. I used them to get decent beer and also to get my fermentation and sanitation down before moving on to more expensive batches.