Hello from Point Loma!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoeNavy

Reaction score
Hey all! I am pretty new to homebrewing; I've done three small batches. I wanted to do the cheap kits to get a feel for it, but couldn't stick with it for long replacing their hops and equipment. I am now using a 10gal cooler mash tun w/ a false bottom, 10 gal kettle, and 6.5gal carboy. Only issues I have had were stuck sparge, but I am guessing because the grains sent to me were way too small. Anyone else have that issue?

Welcome from north county SD! What do you do in the Navy? Thank you for your service!

The stuck sparge could be a number of things from draining the wort too fast, too fine of a crush, grain type, etc. If you are doing a batch with a bunch of hull-less grains (i.e. wheat) you should be tossing in some rice hulls to avoid a stuck sparge.

Thanks! I was sure to open the valve slowly the second time and got the same result. I'll try larger grains this weekend and rice hulls after if that doesn't work.

I'm a submariner in the navy since 2011. Brewing will be a lifesaver for that! Thanks for the input.

Thanks! I was sure to open the valve slowly the second time and got the same result. I'll try larger grains this weekend and rice hulls after if that doesn't work.

I'm a submariner in the navy since 2011. Brewing will be a lifesaver for that! Thanks for the input.

My brother went through nuke school. No he's a 60 pilot on North island. Where do you get your grains? No need to open it slowly, just open it halfway. It'll take a little longer but will still take way less than a stuck sparge haha