Hello friends, need help please with forced carbonating soda! Ty ty ty!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

biscottij1

Reaction score
I am very new to home brewing, and I am only interested in making non alcoholic beverages. I am mostly concerned with the amount of carbonation. Because of my lack of experience in both tasting and making home brewed beverages I believe my expectations could be off. Is it possible to make a really bubbly beverage? I am talking, is it possible to make coca-cola out of the can level of bubbles with a home brewed soda?

I made about 5 gallons of ginger beer and used champagne yeast to carbonate the soda. I let the soda carbonate in bottles. It was decently carbonated. It was so bubbly, one bottle exploded (super exciting my first explosion!). I was prepared for such an event so the damage/mess was minimal. I then drank the rest, and it was delicious, but I felt like it did not stay bubbly even long enough for me to finish one glass. It got flat within minutes, maybe less.

So, because I was disappointed with the level of bubbliness through yeast, I decided to go out and buy a forced carbonating system from my local brew shop (keg, hoses, regulator, and c02 tank). I have read and read and read sooo much! I have watched home made forced carbonating youtube video after youtube video, and I still am finding that it is impossible to replicate the amount of bubbles that are in commercially produced soda.