Hefeweizen fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrcej23

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm new to brewing and to this site. I brewed my first beer this past Friday morning. It is a Bavarian Hefeweizen recipe from northern brewer. The brewing process went pretty well I think. But I have a question pertaining to fermentation. The night of the Friday I brewed it, bubbles began to come through the airlock (which is really just a tube going into a glass of water) then by Saturday, the day after brew day, bubbles were steadily coming through there, like every second or two. However by the end of Saturday and all day today, the bubbles have really slowed down, only coming through every 20 seconds or so if I had to guess. And when I shine a flashlight through the bucket, it appears as though everything has already sunk back down and the beer is now back at my original fill line. I can see where the remnants of the krausen are stuck to the side of the bucket. I followed all the instructions on the recipe and put in half a packet of yeast, but I think I may have accidentally put a tad more than half. So my question is, is it possible for it to be done fermenting only 2 and a half days later. I really don't think so because it says it takes 2 weeks. Or is it possible I did something to throw things off majorly? Just wanted to see what you guys had to say.

Is this less than a five gallon batch? The major portion of the fermentation can be done in a few days especially if the temp was allowed to get to high for the yeast used.