Headspace Temperature and Fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BolgBeorach

Reaction score
Does anyone have any data on how the temperature of the headspace affects yeast, particularly if it is soon after pitching? My understanding is that the yeast ferments from the top of the wort, so if they have been only recently pitched, might they still be floating around on top and drawing heat from the headspace? I ask this because I am fermenting 10 litres in a 30 litre vessel (which isn't ideal, I know), and while the therm strip on the side of the vessel reads 18 degrees Celsius, I got a reading of 24 degrees from the surface of the wort using a thermometer gun. I have a heating control system in place, but since it controls the temp according to the body of the wort, and not ambient, it means that the ambient can fluctuate between extremes, because it obviously heats up and cools more quickly than the liquid. However the headspace follows the ambient, and as a result I am curious as to how it might affect the yeast.

Leaving aside the crux of the concern for the moment, I would not trust an IR gun in that application - even my Fluke - over your "LCD" strip.
I'd find a more reliable way to meter the head space temperature, if only for the science-y aspect :)

As to the concern - even if there was a 6°C delta extant, that's still well within the comfort zone for pretty much any yeast strain. Note I say "comfort" as opposed to "ideal", because while the yeast may have a righteous party at 24°C they may crank out byproducts one doesn't desire that are greatly attenuated at a cooler running temperature - like 18°C.