Hard Seltzer smells like shrimp

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

knestore

Reaction score
I'm fairly new at home brewing, and just made my first attempt at Hard Seltzer (raspberry). Tried it for the first time, tasted good, looked clear, smells like seafood (or something similar). My only thought was I used one of those two-stage packets for clarifying, and believe at least one contained Chitosan which is shellfish based.

So, I assumed maybe that caused the off-smell, but Googling and looking around these forums, I didn't find any examples of others having the same issue with Chitosan (odor). Maybe it's because I used it in seltzer which maybe isn't as strong flavored as beer, wine, etc?

Anyone else ever have this issue with Chitosan or have any ideas what may have happened? Didn't really have a lot else going on with this, just two packets of yeast, sugar, flavor extract, and some yeast nutrient.

Note: I knew Chitosan was was shellfish based before I tried the first bottle, so I concede the possibility my mind is making me think the odor is shellfish, but there is definitely an off smell of some kind. If it's not the clarify agent, I have no idea what might be causing the off-smell other then maybe the yeast itself?

Hi, welcome to HBT!

The chitosan itself doesn't have an odor, so I doubt it's contributing one to your seltzer.

Does the odor remind you of rotten eggs or sulfury farts?

How long has it been in primary?