half batch brewing problem and possible solution?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

krebs119

Reaction score
Looking for opinions here...

A little background... I've been brewing for about 2 years. I've probably done 25 or so brews. Most have turned out good, a few bad, and a few meh, but a few OUTSTANDING. I've brewed extract and mini-mash kits from AHS, NB, and a few kits from some LHBS. I feel pretty comfortable in doing this. I have a few 6.5 gal buckets, a few glass and plastic carboys as well. I started kegging last summer, and have 3 in a temp controlled fridge, with one spare, ready to go.

Problem: I LOVE BREWING (if you can call that a problem). I brew more than I drink (that IS a problem!). For example, I brewed an Oktoberfest last August, kegged October 1, and probably still have half of it left. I have 4 mostly filled kegs, and probably close to 150 bottles right now, from maybe 9 different kits, just ready to be imbibed. I have my next 4 or 5 brews in my head, as to style, and when I want to brew them. I have 3 fermenting right now as well. I get sick of the same beer over and over again, so I like to have many styles on hand - including retail brews.... which gets costly.

What I'm thinking of doing: So since I don't drink as fast as I brew, and I like a lot of styles, I thought "why not do half batches?" and only do 2.5 gal instead of 5. Then I get to brew more often, and have a better variety right? So after some more thought, I realized, I could likely do all-grain, and do it biab style, with my current equipment (two 5gal stock pots, uber stove with uber boiler, wort chiller, etc...). :rockin: