Had to transfer yeast starter. Is it ok?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Austinjs0102

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to brewing and am going to be doing a larger batch this weekend. I made my starter and have it on my homemade sitrplate. It was originally in a small 1000ml flask but it was have a ton of activity and blow off. I transferred it to a growler. I sanitized everything and ensured everything I touched was sanitized. Should I be concerned with transferring it to a larger vessel?

Thanks!

Still spinning, not as well as before but i'm going to adjust that after this brew.

I think it is due the potentiometer i place in the sitrplate so going to readdress that once i finish up brewday.

Thanks for answering that, looks like its still very active so lets hope it is a good one :).

Yeah as long as your sanitation is good, since the goal of using a starter is to grow your yeast with oxygen, some splashing when you pour is no biggie. The yeast can't tell the difference.

I'd get a bigger flask for next big brew day though. Make sure you get the ones with the flat bottoms

Yeah as long as your sanitation is good, since the goal of using a starter is to grow your yeast with oxygen, some splashing when you pour is no biggie. The yeast can't tell the difference.

I'd get a bigger flask for next big brew day though. Make sure you get the ones with the flat bottoms

Thanks for the info! i plan on getting a larger one. thankfully i have a larger stirplate as well so will get one next week.

I "transfer" probably around half my yeast starters to split/step them up. Youll be fine as long as you sanitize properly

I "transfer" probably around half my yeast starters to split/step them up. Youll be fine as long as you sanitize properly