Growler Conditioning

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Justin P.

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I’m new to this, so please take it easy on me.

About 3 weeks ago, I brewed a 5 gal batch of Hefeweizen and hit the OG (1.047) I was shooting for. Last night, I bottled (after adding 5oz of priming sugar) well over half into 22oz bottles. Without thinking much about it, I decided to transfer the rest into three 64oz brewpub growlers and screwed the thin metal caps on pretty hard.

I told a co-worker, who has been brewing for well over a decade, and he said it’s either going to be flat or explode. I’d rather have flat beer than a huge mess or potential injury, but I’m not sure what to think. Should I cut my losses and just dump the growlers out tonight when I get home from work, or roll the dice?

If the 5oz was evenly mixed in the entire batch you should be good, as long as your fermentation was done (what was your final gravity)?
However, I would doubt those kind of screw tops on the growlers are going to hold pressure well enough to bottle condition over the course of multiple weeks, but maybe you'll get lucky. Personally I'd let it ride rather than risk everything that comes with another transfer.

If the 5oz was evenly mixed in the entire batch you should be good, as long as your fermentation was done (what was your final gravity)?
However, I would doubt those kind of screw tops on the growlers are going to hold pressure well enough to bottle condition over the course of multiple weeks, but maybe you'll get lucky. Personally I'd let it ride rather than risk everything that comes with another transfer.

FG = 1.011

I’ll wrap the lids with electrical tape and put them near the drain in my unfinished laundry room. Makes me nervous, though...