Grist for a dunkel

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oceanic_brew

Reaction score
Hey,

Just wanna run this by someone before I dive in. My shop only has light Munich so I'm trying to get some color in there elsewhere.

5.5 gallon batch

5#'s wheat malt
4#'s light munich
.85 #'s caramunich
4 oz carafa
4 oz chocolate malt

Wyeast 3068
.75 oz hallertau 60 mins

How does that sound?

My experience with crystal malts makes me wanna lower that caramunich but I have no experience with it. I don't mind a slightly sweet dunkel.

Thanks!

Hey,

Just wanna run this by someone before I dive in. My shop only has light Munich so I'm trying to get some color in there elsewhere.

5.5 gallon batch

5#'s wheat malt
4#'s light munich
.85 #'s caramunich
4 oz carafa
4 oz chocolate malt

Wyeast 3068
.75 oz hallertau 60 mins

How does that sound?

My experience with crystal malts makes me wanna lower that caramunich but I have no experience with it. I don't mind a slightly sweet dunkel.

Thanks!

I think your grist actually looks pretty good if a little dark. You might want to add a pound or 2 of pilsner malt for the extra enzyme it offers for the wheat and munich (though they both have diastatic power of their own). Also think about dropping the carafa II. You'll get plenty of color from 6 oz of chocolate. A lot of dunkel recipes also use Special B malt, which I really like.

I would consider upping the IBU's a little bit, but not much.. maybe 1 oz or 1.25 oz. I've been using hallertau a lot lately and it always seems less bitter than it should to me.

EDIT: I ran it through Beer Smith. It looks like you are a little heavy for the style too, but I don't know your system efficiency.

My recommended revision:

4lbs white wheat
3.5 lb munich light
1 lb pilsner