Greetings from McKinleyville, CA!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ultryx

Reaction score
This site has an excellent wealth of knowledge and some (seemingly) very helpful and friendly members. We all just want to brew good beer and share that with friends and family!

I'm still very new to brewing. I was gifted a Northern Brewer $100 starter kit 3 years ago. I've brewed 2 extract kits with it and bottled everything up. Flash forward to today and I have improved so much, both in brewing practices, and knowledge. Mainly brewing for myself, family, and friends. I also am brewing each batch with the intention of it being ready for competition entry if I choose to do that. I actually have entered one competition and have a story to share from that, but we'll make that another thread for another day!

Just brewed (an APA) on my new setup for the first time yesterday. BIAB, Ss Brewtech 10G Brew Kettle, and a outdoor propane burner. Fermentation is coming along nicely. My expected OG was 1.056 and I came in at 1.057 - so I think that means my first BIAB session went well! The rains are supposed to stop at about noon today and I'm planning on brewing an IPA today as well. All brews will end up in my newly constructed (used) kegerator. Really excited to move away from bottling the majority of my stuff. I'll hang on to those for competitions, gifts, and aging things like stouts.

Cheers everyone! Looking forward to becoming more involved in this community!

Ultryx

Edit: Also hoping to get into the trading scene on here! I'll need to ship a few trades first to gain the rep, but I am a reliable shipper. I'd love to get my hands on some East Coast brews!

Last edited: