Good books

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

njamesnasty

Reaction score
I am just getting into home brewing (and by 'just' I mean I have started to read about it and researched equipment) and I was wondering if anyone knew of any good books or other resources to check out. I ordered the joy of homebrewing a few days ago too, is that a good book for a beginner? Thanks

I applaud your first step! Too many jump in head first uninformed. Complete Joy is a great first place to start. I liked the Everything Homebrewing book by Drew Beechum. Palmer's How to Brew is also popular but I found it a little dry. The more you read the better. But brew soon as well; don't get stuck in analysis paralysis. There's no substitute for practical experience. Welcome to brewing!

Some would say that book is outdated but I started brewing only 2 years ago and found it at the very least informative. I also have read Yeast, and Hops and of course homebrew talk!

To be honest the best advice I can give is to just dive in. I went from Mr. beer to all grain in less than 6 months and honestly my first 4-5 beers were just plain awful. Good news is that 2 years later I won the county fair specialty beer class as well as placed in the hefe class. Just dive in and go for it. Read up of course but there is no substitute for getting your hands dirty(yeasty.)

How to Brew is the single best resource for your first batch. I'd buy it immediately, or read the old edition he maintains for free online.

How to Brew is the single best resource for your first batch. I'd buy it immediately, or read the old edition he maintains for free online.

+1