Gingerbread stout

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crock_it_out

Reaction score
I've never used spices in a beer before. I have the stout recipe I want to use but I need help on the amount if spices. I'm planning on throwing them in the last 5mins

1.5 tsp ground ginger
1tsp cinnamon
.25 tsp clove
.25 tsp nutmeg

You think more or less for a 5 gal batch.

I've never come up with my own spice "recipe", and have only used amounts that have been given in other recipes or come in packs, so I can't say off the top of my head. But, I think a good way to see if you're in the ballpark is to compare to other recipes that are out there. It may take a bit of research and clicking around online, but you may find you are close, or are way off.

I just looked at one to get an idea:
http://www.austinhomebrew.com/product_info.php?cPath=178_21_75&products_id=10240

AHS's Holiday Spice Pack has the same four spices in it as yours. They don't say in what proportion, though, just total amount (1/2 oz, which it says will "moderately spice" a 5 Gal batch). So you could add up the weights of your spice amounts and see if it's close to 1/2 oz or 14 g.

Here's a good reference for dry cooking weights and measures conversions (and liquid too):
http://www.kswheat.com/assets/Bakin...s 3/Baking measurements and substitutions.pdf

Crock_it_out said:
I've never used spices in a beer before. I have the stout recipe I want to use but I need help on the amount if spices. I'm planning on throwing them in the last 5mins 1.5 tsp ground ginger 1tsp cinnamon .25 tsp clove .25 tsp nutmeg You think more or less for a 5 gal batch.