ginger mead?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
any good recipes out there?

I have a ginger mead in Primary right now. It is my first attempt at a Ginger mead. First here is a quote from Jack Keller on his take of Ginger mead.

Zingimel (Ginger Mead) 1 gallon

2-1/2 lbs clover honey (you can use any honey)
1/2 oz ginger root, peeled and sliced crosswise
juice of one large orange
water to 1 gal
1 Campden tablet
1/2 tsp yeast nutrient
1/4 tsp yeast energizer
1 sachet Lalvin 71B-1122 (or Red Star Pasteur Champagne) wine yeast
Heat 1 quart water to perhaps 120 degrees F. and stir in the honey. Cover and remove from heat. Meanwhile, brought a separate 2 cups water with the ginger root slices to a gentle boil. When ginger slices begin to turn translucent carefully strain water into honey-water, discarding the root or saving for a mild tea. In primary, combine two quarts cold water, orange juice, yeast nutrient and energizer, and combined honey- and ginger-waters. Bring volume up to one gallon, cover and allow to cool to about 80 degrees F. Pitch activated yeast and recover primary. After 2 days stir daily until s.g. drops to 1.010 (mine did this on day 9), then transfer to secondary and attach airlock. Ferment 30 days and rack, add a finely ground and dissolved Campden tablet, top up and reattach airlock. Wait 60 days and rack again, then repeat after additional 60 days. After third 60-day period, inspect bottom of secondary for sediment. It should be clean, in which case you can bottle the mead, but if a very light dusting is visible rack once again and bottle after a few days. Bottle age at least 3 months and serve chilled. [Author's own recipe]