Getting into sours

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dadux

Reaction score
I had never tasted sour until briefly before i started brewing a month and a half ago or so.
I really liked it so i would like to give it a try. I have the next batch planned but after that i might give it a try if i come with a solid plan. For this i would like to ask the more expert brewers a bunch of things.

Here is what i intended to do.
14l wort, around 2.7kg vienna, 0.5kg dark munich and 0.3kg Caramel 300.
Mash normally. Then cool to 45ºC and add a premade culture from some grains (2-4 days ago). This way i know by smell i dont have contamination.
Problem is i cant keep temp constant for a long while either in kettle or culture. Kettle keeps constant temp longer. I might heat water in it to 50ºC and put the starter there to keep it warm too. I can also acidify the culture before inoculation with some lemon or vinegar. The ammount is so small it would be noticeable in the big batch i suppose.
Then kettle sour for 24h or so until pH is 3.4-3.8. Im kinda scared of this. My pot is supposed to be 3 layered, stainles steel, aluminum and stainless steel again. I think steel is fine with acidity but i dont wanna ruin the pot.
After that boil and cool, pitch yeast and ferment normally (with a neutral-ish strain, M36 from Mangrove Jack's), maybe add some tettnagner hops to the boil and after. They have low AA but will add some flavour. Then bottle in 3 weeks with priming sugar for around 2.2 volumes of CO2 and drink in another 1-2 weeks.

I've also read people saying that if you do sour in a bucket then dont use it for normal beer later, is this true? or only if i use brett/dont boil the microbes first? I usually spray with a 10% metabisulphite solution...