General Newbie Brewing Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChimayLover

Reaction score
Hey guys,
Im new to the world of homebrewing, and I just placed an order for a kit online...Ive been reading up on the process, but I am still confused about a couple of things...Maybe you can help me out
My first question is about malts. The kit I got comes with some liquid malts(Munstons I believe)... My question is, will using liquid malts result in a lower quality beer than if I had used dry ones? Is it cheating to use a malt extract? I cant shake the feeling that my brew wont be truly my own if I am using someone else's premade product...
I was also wondering, how can I manipulate the strength of the beer? Is it a simple matter of adding more priming sugar? What can one do to increase the strength of their brew?
Lastly, it seems that boil overs are pretty common among new brewers...Any tips on preventing them? In the case of a boil over, is it necessary to start completely over?
Thanks in advance for you help!

MIke

ChimayLover said:
My question is, will using liquid malts result in a lower quality beer than if I had used dry ones? Is it cheating to use a malt extract? I cant shake the feeling that my brew wont be truly my own if I am using someone else's premade product...

No, and no. DME is not better than LME. Many homebrewers do prefer DME: it is less perishable and easier to store and handle. But fresh LME and fresh DME make comparable beer.

You might decide at some later point to mash your own grains, but many homebrewers never do, and you can make downright stunning beer for extract or from all-grain if you get good at the process.