Gelatin and bottling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EricaM

Reaction score
It's my first time making beer. I read that for adding gelatin to clarify beer quickly, the beer needs to be chilled first. I've put it into the fridge in a carboy, but then I read something that said if you make the beer cold it will kill the yeast and then won't carbonate in the bottles. I don't think it's all the way cold yet. Should I take it out? If I chill it overnight, will it still carbonate if the bottles stay warm for 2 weeks after?

I would avoid both cold crashing and gelatin.

You certainly don't need it, and it greatly increases risk of oxidation. Oxygen damages flavor and is Beer Enemy #1.

I would avoid both cold crashing and gelatin.

You certainly don't need it, and it greatly increases risk of oxidation. Oxygen damages flavor and is Beer Enemy #1.

How does cold crashing cause oxidation? Just curious.

(1) Cold-crashing won't kill the yeast. It will help drop a lot of particulate out of suspension and clear the beer.
(2) Cold-crashing will cause some amount of suck-back through the airlock, which can dump some sanitizer/airlock fluid into the beer (not a huge issue) and also suck oxygen back into the carboy (which can be problematic, and more so for hop-forward styles).
There are a lot of different ways to deal with suck-back, but most of those I would classify as advanced techniques that require a better understanding and a development of the process. I, for example, use a mylar balloon (a "balloon-lock") that fills with CO2. Easy, cheap, but still requires an active understanding of fermentaiton.