Foamy beer from keg

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StoutNoDoubt

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm very new to kegging and just started using corny kegs in a kegerator. My system is not complex at all. I have the beer line running to a quick disconnect which connected to the keg and then the gas line running to a quick disconnect that is connected to the keg as well. I pressurized at 20 psi for a day and the. Let it pressurize at 10 psi and it has been at that setting since. For the last couple of weeks pours had been fine but since yesterday, my pours have been all foam. The only thing that happens between good pours and bad was that I disconnected the beer line from the keg so that I could put my beer gun on to bottle some beers from the keg and I had to bleed out all the gas and set it to 3 psi for bottle pressure. After all that, I have had problems with the beer not coming up the line sometimes and super foamy pours :(. Please help!

How long ago did you use the beer gun? Setting the pressure to 3 psi would most likely let a lot of CO2 come out of solution due to the lack of head pressure. I would bump the PSI back to what you had been serving at with no issues and let it sit for a couple days. If the beer is not coming up through the beer lines it sounds like the keg just does not have enough pressure in it, or its empty.

Hopefully this helps.

Cheers