First time re-using yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MannyEdwards

Reaction score
I harvested yeast for the first time a couple of weeks ago, and it's been in the fridge since. I have a pint chock full of Nottingham, and it smells great, but I've never used harvested yeast before.

Can I just pitch the whole pint into my 5.5 gallons without making a starter? If it doesn't start, I suppose later I can pitch a new pack of dry yeast, and the harvested stuff won't ruin it?

Yes, but it probably is a massive overpitch.

I'd consult a yeast pitching calculator, like mrmalty.com (free on the desktop version) to get the right amount. A pint jar is probably enough for a 15 gallon batch. I use about 1/2 of a pint jar for a 11 gallon batch, usually.

For example, say your yeast is 2 weeks old. You and making an ale and the projected OG is 1.056 and your batch size is 5 gallons. You need approximately 125 ml of a medium-thick slurry for that batch. That is 4 ounces approximately- or 1/2 cup, or 1/4 of a pint.

I harvested yeast for the first time a couple of weeks ago, and it's been in the fridge since. I have a pint chock full of Nottingham, and it smells great, but I've never used harvested yeast before.

Can I just pitch the whole pint into my 5.5 gallons without making a starter? If it doesn't start, I suppose later I can pitch a new pack of dry yeast, and the harvested stuff won't ruin it?

According to Mr Malty which gives very pessimisting rates of yeast viability you need

260ml for a 5.5gallon batch of 1.055 wort.

Your pint should be more than enough. 1/2 pint is likely all you need.

I've used slurry before and not needed a blowoff. No more vigorous than other fements I've had.