First time doing a Lager

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tommysauder

Reaction score
Ok so I am VERY new at this but started with all-grain to get experience in making AWESOME beer. My first batch was good with lots of mistakes, and ended up being REALLY bitter.

Second batch has been in primary for a week, going to leave it for another week than cold crash it for a week then bottle.

Now because I'm getting anxious on opening, smelling, tasting all the time I'm going to try and do a Lager! (Keeps me busy). I got a hydrometer this time, going to pickup some LME and another ferment bucket.

After lots of research, I've decided holding off brewing this weekend to get some starters going for my liquid yeast. I'm using WLP800, and am going to make a 2L starter. Once that's done I'm going to split it into another 2L jug and introduce more LME to both. I figure this will take a week or so, therefore the actual brewing process will be next weekend!

I'll be taking lots of pictures, including the making of starters and would like all the input I can get, as I have read that Lagers need to be babied.

Here is the grain bill:

9lbs Bohemian Pilsner Malt
1lb Carafoam
.5lbs Caramunich Malt
WLP800

Going to mash for 60 minutes at 150F with 3.5 gallons, and then sparge with 3 gallons for 10 minutes at 155F. (If that makes sense?).

Once boiling hops will go in:

1/2 oz Perle @ 60 mins
1/2 oz Perle @ 30 mins
1 oz Hallertauer @ 15 mins

I have a wort chiller I made (small but will work). Will attempt to get the wort down to 55F but may be a little hard and take a while...

Then transfer to fermenter, put the starters in and let it ferment at approx 48-52F. I'll post the making of my starters once I pickup some LME and STARSAN.

All criticism good or not is welcomed!