First time Brewer with some questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All, i'm new here and to brewing. I have read alot and watched alot or brewing videos and am confident enough that i understand the process. I'm also a chef that's done alot of molecular gastronomy so am good with the science stuff.

My questions are: I'd like to start by doing a bunch of small batches to test different recipes out. I'm thinking of approximately 4-5 litre batches (as in, 4-5litres or beer after ferment).

I'm thinking of starting by doing full grain BIAB. My main question i guess, as i'm currently shopping for my equipment, is what size pot is needed for smallish batches, and also with teh size of fermenters.. to get 4-5litres in the fermenter, do they have to be around that size themselves or can i ferment small batches in larger fermenters? I'm planning to buy probably 3-4 fermenters to have a few small batches going at the same time.

My thought behind this is that if it all goes well, id do bigger batches, but would be good to not have to buy larger equipment and just start off with the larger stuff already, but still doing small batches

Anyways, looking forward to responses and thanks in advance!

When I do small batches I use a 2 gal food grade bucket. ( I bought the bucket at Lowe’s, drilled a hole in the lid, placed a grommet in for my air lock).
As far as pot, I would say a 3 gal would be the smallest. I use a 5 gal.
For my bag on the small batches I use a 5 gal paint strainer bag.