First Time Brewer- Recommendations

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeerObot9000

Reaction score
Hey everyone, just joined the site yesterday and have absolutely no experience in brewing so please forgive any re-posts. I just want a few recommendations on how to get started.

And let me reiterate, I have NO experience at all- you can literally treat me like a child and break things down into the simplest of concepts.

I'm on a pretty strict budget and I'm trying to spend ~ $100 USD or less to start with. I've read a lot of info on the site this morning and have a basic idea of what I need. Seems like my best bet is buying a kit for now (including the basic hardware and ingredients) and then gradually upgrading once I'm more comforatble brewing. I'm definitely a hands-on learner so a kit with full instructions would benefit me a lot. I feel like once I get that first batch out of the way, whether it turns out good or bad, I'll grasp the concept of brewing much more easily.

Also keep in mind I'll have to buy practically everything online unless it's readily available at a hardware store... no brew stores in my area that I know of.

So what kits would you recommend for someone like me?
Or should I go another route?

Please tell me what to do!

Again sorry if this has been posted a million times (I'm sure it has) but I've tried to read as many FAQ threads as possible and I'm now overloading on info... I thought this would be an easier approach.

-Nick

If you're really on that much of a budget, you can skim through and read it online http://www.howtobrew.com/intro.html

But you should eventually buy it to
1) make notes in. Yes, books were made to be USED and annotated
2) support the author and book industry.