First time BIAB. A few questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

noslenwerd

Reaction score
Hi there... I've been brewing 5 gallon batches for quite a few years, but I just don't drink enough these days to brew batches that big. Plus I love the idea of experimenting with random styles, so I am ready to dive into 1 gallon (maybe 1.5g for a 12 pack?) BIAB.

A few questions:

1. Are there certain bags you recommend? Do you ever "double bag" just to be safe?

2. Sparging: Do you put a colander on top of the mash pot, put the grains in it, and rinse the grains that way?

3. What is your average efficiency? (please include details on if you sparge, double crush grain etc)

4. Do you bottle, or keg? I might look into some of the smaller 2.5 gallon torpedo kegs.

5. If I wanted to test how quickly my wort would boil off on my stovetop, I would do that with just plain water and it would have the same effect?

Thanks ahead of time!

I've done only BIAB for the past 30 batches or so.

1. The Brew Bag - www.brewinabag.com
2. I don't sparge, just squeeze the bag until I hit my target volume.
3. 70 - 75% (depending on OG)... same as when I used a mash tun.
4. I keg. Just decreased my batch size to 3 gallons, but I still use my 5 gallon kegs.
5. Probably...? Can't help you here. Trial and error would be my recommendation.

Edit: I also still do larger batches when I'm splitting the beer with my father-in-law. Just did 15 gallons yesterday with ~25 lbs of grain. The Brew Bag handled the weight of the wet grain when I pulled the bag without even a hint that it might rip. I know you won't have this issue with 1 gallon batches, but thought it was worth adding.

An insert can lead to having a lot of dead space, or water outside the mash especially with smaller batches.