First Recipe Formulation-help from veterans.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

medic699

Reaction score
This is my first recipe formulation. This is only my second AG batch. I was looking for a nice, light, session drinking, citrusy beer for summer drinking. I don't want a summer shandy tasting beer. I decided to go after the fruity, citrusy taste by using apricot purée in primary and secondary with a little apricot extract to accent at bottling. I was going after kind if a blonde with apricot/citrus flavor. Here is what I came up with after 4 days of research on recipe formulation. As a side note, this is my first time using Carafoam. I did an extract batch similar to this and wanted more head. I am afraid this will give too much body for the lightness I'm looking for. Please take a look and tell me what you think. Thanks for looking.

Pale 2-row 8lbs 2oz 89.3%
Crystal 10L 8.9oz 5.5%
Carafoam 8.2oz. 5.1%
Amarillo .5oz 60 min
Amarillo .5oz 15 min
Irish moss 10 min
SafAle 04 yeast

apricot purée into primary for 7 days
Apricot purée into secondary for 7 days.
Bottle carbonation w/ 2 prime dose tabs, 1/2 tsp apricot extract for 14 days.

Est OG: 1.052
Est FG: 1.010
Est ABV: 5.5%
IBU: 27.2
Color: 4.4 SRM

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

If you are worried about too much mouthfeel or head retention properties, just halve the amount of carafoam you will be using. I personally use a combo of flaked barley and carapils, but I've never found a beer to be too thick because of it.

That said, I think you could cut back slightly on the crystal if you want the apricot to shine through more. It does seem to be a bit apricot heavy, but you don't list any amounts that you'll use except for the extract.