First Kolsch, temperature advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wsmith1625

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I brewed my first Kolsch last Sunday (6/24) and pitched Wyeast 2565 Kolsch Yeast at 58°. Fermentation started between 12-24 hours later and was pretty active. Things are slowing down now and I'm thinking of ramping up the temperature this weekend. Not planning on adding heat, but letting it naturally rise to 68°. Seems reasonable to me, but being my first Kolsch, I was just wondering if anyone had anything to add. Thanks!

I've never used that strain before so I'm not sure . I think let it rise will be just fine. When using a Lager yeast I slowly bump it up daily but if I'm not mistaken this is an ale yeast that can give you a crisp lager feel . If im thinking of the wrong yeast disregard, but I think your fine letting it naturally come up from 58f

Just brewed my second Kolsch in a month. I went with Imperial Dieter yeast and started her off at 60 for about 4 days, then 65 for 24 hours, then back to 60 for the remainder. I find a cool fermentation keeps the beer ester free and the 65 is enough for a diacetyl rest. Normally I leave my Kolsch in the fermenter for 21 days, but I'm not entirely sure that's necessary. I recently bought a Tilt hydrometer and today is Day 5 (including brew day), and I'm almost at FG. I'll let it ride at least another 7 days after the gravity stabilizes for any additional cleanup.

By the way, I LOVE Imperial Dieter yeast for Altbier and Kolsch. Amazing yeast.