First attempt at a Saison

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vsanchez949

Reaction score
Hey Guys,

This is my first attempt at an all grain Saison. Heres my grain bill. How does it look??

9lb Pale Malt ( 2 Row)
1lb 4oz Cara-pils
8oz White Wheat
4oz Caramel/Crystal malt- 20l
12oz Brown Sugar, Light
.62oz Cascade- Boil 60min
.62oz Willamette- Boil 30min
.62oz Cascade- 10min.
Wyeast Labs WLP566

The hops are leftover, any input/critiques appreciated!

IMHO to much carapils. I would cut it back to 8 oz max. Other that that bitter to whatever ibu you want with cascade and use the rest for aroma.

1# 4oz. of carapils is a lot - i'd drop a pound...and i'm not a fan of adding sugar, especially more than 8 oz

also, i don't think willamette is a great choice for a saison, but saison is a very wide-ranging genre...cascade for bittering is a bit different but might be nice...

IMHO, anything over 2-3% of crystal malts in a saison is just defeating the purpose of the style. All of my saisons are almost always 100% base malts, which helps the yeast finish out dry. I would completely drop the crystal and cara pils, along with the sugar. Unless you're going for a very high gravity saison, it really isn't needed if you follow a proper mash schedule. Honestly just 9 lbs 2-row and 1 lb wheat malt is sufficient for a good base. Maybe throw in some munich or vienna, flaked wheat maybe, even some flaked corn or spelt. Mash around 147*F or so.

As for hops, I do like Cascade in reserved amounts. I haven't ever used Willamette in one, so I can't really say if it would be out of place or not.

Styrian goldings and czech saaz are better hop choices for the 60 and 30 min additions IMO. Cascade at the finish sounds nice.