First AG Brew - How did I do? Feedback Please.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bpnc9702

Reaction score
I completed my first all grain batch yesterday, I have been brewing extract for over two years now and made the move over to all-grain basically for the fun of it and I like the challenge of working with more variables and being creative and that fact that I may actually get some cost savings after its all over and done. That being said I had some good folks on here advise me on some good recipes to cut my teeth on (https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f66/centennial-blonde-simple-4-all-grain-5-10-gall-42841/#post420400) I didnt have the big 10 gal cooler, but did have a 5 gal cooler. It seemed from my research and guidance from folks on here that as long as I wasn't working a recipe that needed a lot of grain that I could be able to make a full 5 gallon batch with what I had, however just to cut my teeth and do a full test run I just simplified the 5 gal recipe into a 2.5 gal (cut ingredients in half). Without getting into too many crazy details below is how I came out, I have to admit that other than getting my grains to hold at the right temp, my biggest challenge was getting the water amounts right (add to the mash, sparge, and most of all pre boil) and calculate and adjust correct OG.

Estimated OG: 1.040 (this is the original gravity for the 5 gal recipe).
Boil Time: 60 mins.
Mash Temp Target: 150F @ 60 mins