First 10 gallon batch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KarlHungus76

Reaction score
I recently upgraded my equipment to be able to make 10 gallon batches, I have been brewing for a little over two years and in keeping variables to a minimum, I have decided to do 10 gallons of Edwort's Haus Pale, given the lighter grain bill and lower stakes if there are mistakes.
Any common mistakes people can think of when switching to larger batches? Thanks.

I recently upgraded my equipment to be able to make 10 gallon batches, I have been brewing for a little over two years and in keeping variables to a minimum, I have decided to do 10 gallons of Edwort's Haus Pale, given the lighter grain bill and lower stakes if there are mistakes.
Any common mistakes people can think of when switching to larger batches? Thanks.

Good thoughts on your first batch, keep it to something simple and relatively cheap.

Some general comments:
- While 10 gallon batches take up less overall time than two independent 5 gallon batches, be prepared for a little longer brew day. Water treatment, milling grain, filling vessels, heating, transfers, chilling, cleaning all usually take longer with bigger batches.
- Do you have a pump(s)? They can make it a little (or alot) easier to transfer that much liquid. A pot with 10 gallons of boiling or near boiling liquid is not something you want to be picking up and dumping. A nice gravity system can work also, but make sure you account for the extra weight.