Final gravity question -- advice sought!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bhamsteelerfan

Reaction score
I am currently brewing a british IPA from extract. I used 8.8 pounds of pilsen malt extract along with some steeping grains (12 oz. crystal 60, 2 oz. roasted barley, and 2 oz. smoked malt) and used White Labs British Ale Yeast. I created a yeast starter about two days before brewing day. Action in the airlock was pretty vigorous for a week or so. Beer has been in the fermentation bucket for about 16 days now. I just checked took a hydrometer reading and was disappointed to discover it read 1.020. I can't figure out what I did wrong or what I can do at this point (I'm still a relative newbie -- have done about four brews so far).

I do have a pack of Safale s-04. I was wondering if I should pitch it in there to get the final gravity down. Thoughts? Advice?

It's not unusual for extract brews to stall at 1.020. There's even a term for it: the 1.020 curse. It's just the nature of the beast.

Original gravity was around .077 (I forgot to write it down, but I remember it being around there).

Fermentation temps were 66-68. There was one night during a cold snap (the second night, I believe) where the temp went down close to 62, but other than that, it's been at 66-68 the whole time.

When it comes to the question of how large a starter, I don't know. That I don't know how to calculate. I just know that I used one vial of yeast with 1/2 cup of DME. Wish I knew how to calculate how large my starter is.