Fight diacetyl w/out raising temp

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bradleypariah

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm new to lager, and my basement is a cool 55° F. Horror stories about cold fermentation are making me worry about diacetyl.

I have electric heated blankets and an electric heating pad, but no InkBird or anything like that, so I'm afraid of making my lager too hot if I just let it go all day.
I could bring the carboy to my bedroom, which is about 65° F, but there's too much sunlight. In the closet, you say? I don't have one, as weird as that is. Very old house.

I'm trying to understand if diacetyl rests are an absolute requirement for lager or not, taking into consideration I don't want a diacetyl off-flavor in my beer.

As of this Saturday, this beer will be three weeks old in the primary. I was planning on just dry hopping and kegging after about six weeks. No secondary, no temperature ramp.

1. What do you think about that?
  2. Do people ramp up their temperature only to hasten the process of diacetyl consumption? -and/or-
  3. Will the yeast ever re-absorb all of the diacetyl if given enough time?

temp ramp is to hasten diacetyl removal. speeds it up. will happen at lower temps as long as yeast are healthy and have been treated well. at cold temps, it could take weeks. thats why its "lager" beer.