Fermenting Lager in Plastic

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BenS

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to making lagers and today while brewing up a cerveza for a buddy, I got to thinking about fermenting in a plastic bucket like ales. I kept wanting to try it but didn't because I know lagers take longer to clean up nasty compounds and I would hate to transfer to secondary or keg to get it out of the plastic and lose all the yeast because they are bottom fermenters. I'm very curious about this, is there enough yeast in suspension for them to finish cleaning things up after you transfer to another vessel? I also wonder if it's more important with lagers than ales to make sure you have very little to no trub going into the fermenter because you're wanting as clean a flavor as possible.....

Thoughts???

whats wrong with leaving a lager in a plastic bucket for a few weeks? just curious as thats what i currently do.

My idea is that you wouldn't want any sort of oxidation in a lager and it's not uncommon for lagers to take up to 4 weeks to finish fermentation. My other question was what effect does trub have on the flavor of a lager? If I let it sit at the bottom of the primary for 4-8 weeks, is it going to muddle up the clean lager flavor?

I've lagered for months in plastic with no issues. That whole plastic premeability to oxygen stuff is WAY overrated, and way over blown in light of modern plastic (it was probably mostly generated by the glass carboy industry to scare folks anyway). Don't forget there is a cushion of co2 enveloping your beer. If O2 CAN get in, then CO2 can be pushing it outward and keeping it from getting in. And the cold is going to pull more of that co2 into the beer anyway.

Get yourself a couple plastic better bottles and lager away....