Fermenting Advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

capt82

Reaction score
Sorry in advance, I know this is covered in other threads but they seem to end at "just leave it alone and it will be fine".

I used my first liquid yeast (WL810) and still no yeast activity after 4 days. It's been fermenting at a steady 72*. There was a yeast cake at bottom after 12 hours. I pitched the yeast probably on the cooler side and no starter (I know, I'm still learning). It was aerated before pitching and a little after. I don't have equipment yet to take a gravity reading. (I took the brew now on a budget and learn and pay later approach.)

So what do you think? "Will it be fine" even if yeast never gets active? I get sick at the though of dumping beer, but if I jacked it up I want to move on and start planning the next. Thanks

Sent from my iPad using Home Brew

hard to tell what's going on here. you say that you pitched "on the cooler side" but that you've been "fermenting at a steady 72*" - so you pitched cool and then warmed up to 72? if so, that should have made the yeast happy.

how big a beer is this batch? a single vial, no starter, might be under-pitching. your yeast might still be hard at work growing.

you're fermenting WLP810, San Francisco Lager Yeast, at 72*F? you should keep it under 65. you might get some funky flavors that high up. read other's experiences: https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f12/wlp810-temps-above-65f-37784/

How old was the yeast?

When you say "no activity", do you mean no bubbles? No krausen? Lager yeast fermentation is usually slower and less exciting than ale ferments, so take that into account.