Fermentation slowed

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewingRob

Reaction score
I have read about homebrewing for about a decade, but I finally got the guts to start. My first beer is a blonde ale. Now, I know I'm a noob, but I'm concerned about this batch.

I picked up this ale at a local microbrewery. First of all, the directions failed to mention "Add DME and boil." Thankfully, I noticed after throwing in the first round of hops. Anyway, after this mistake, it made me leery of the following directions.

I was instructed to fill with cold water to 5 1/2 gallons. Seemed like a little too much, but I was following the directions. :(

The brew was started on an evening. I am on the 5th day, but the fermentation slowed on the evening of day 3. Today, if the airlock is bubbling, I can't notice it.

Also, it is very cold here. I have struggled to keep the fermentor at 70. Later, I discovered that cold isn't all that bad, and it's now resting at 63-66.

Is this normal or a blonde ale, being a lighter beer? Should I risk contamination at this point by opening it up for a reading? The OG was 1.035 (if I read it right). Seems very low. :confused:

What should I do?

Just let it go! Sounds like its on track, might be a little low in alcohol percentage but nothing you can do about that now. I am sure it will turn out fine!

Let it continue. Just because it isn't bubbling doesn't mean it isn't working. In fact, let it continue for another 2 weeks if you can wait that long. It takes some time for the yeast to finish the job it started and your beer will turn out better for it.

I don't know how the other kit instructions but having brewed with kits from Midwest and Brewers Best, the instructions from Brewers Best are the easier to understand and follow.