Fermentation help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

browniebuck

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the Homebrew talk forum, but I've been homebrewing for almost eight years. I just had something happen in my last batch that I've never experience before and I need some help/advice.

On Black Friday I brewed two beers - an amber ale cloned on Anderson Valley Boont Amber, and a Scottish export ale. Normally I would cool off my wort with an immersion chiller, but due to weather I was confined to my garage. I cooled the worts down to a point where I could rack them off the plastic buckets and let them cool down to pitching temp. I then pitched two liters of starter yeast into both buckets after oxygenation. That was almost three days ago and I have no airlock activity. Sunday I pitched a fresh pitch of dry yeast into both worts and oxygenated again. This morning there was still nothing. Am I just totally screwed at this point, and what happened to my fermentation?

Sorry to go so long. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Matt

Buckets are famous for leaky lids. The co2 leaks instead of going thru the airlock.
Is there any visual sign of fermentation? With 2 litre starters you could already be done or close to it.. Check gravity

Did you take a gravity reading prior to pitching the second time? if so, was it different from your SG?

I did wonder if the lids might not be secured. When I popped the lids off to toss in the second pitch of yeast, I didn't see any sign of krausen in either bucket. I will take your advice and take a gravity sample tonight. I'll post a follow up later with my results. Thanks!