Fermentation done after 1 week?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CoreyT

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm still new to homebrewing, I've made 5 beers, this is my 6th. Two of those have come out drinkable, haha.

Anyway, I got a Milk Stout kit from my local shop, it's a Brewer's Best kit. I also got the FastFerment conical to try out and help make things a little easier process wise.

I started everything last week on 1/10/15.

I used Wyeast 1056 instead of the included dry yeast packet. I got this from a similar recipe for a Milk Stout online.

When I pitched the yeast I had an OG of 1.052, a little below the box's OG of 1.057-1.060. The kit includes specialty grains, so I imagine I didn't steep them well enough to get everything I guess?

Fermentation started within 24 hours no problem, had a very active airlock for two days, then things calmed down. The krausen came and went. Today I cleaned out the collection ball and took a hydrometer reading. I got 1.021. This is within the FG on the box of 1.020-1.024.

I'm not sure if I should leave it in another week, and see what happens, or if it being at 1.021 I should bottle now and let it sit. The temp on the fermenter has been a really consistent 62-68 degrees. I actually have two fermometers on there, the one for the FastFermenter and a stick on one, they both read the same.

Any advice on what I should do? Is this a sign I did something wrong, or is this acceptable? Thanks.

Your fermentation could be complete in one week, but I wouldl still leave in the primary for at least two weeks. I would also take another gravity reading in a day or two and see if the FG is stable.