Fermentation complication

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rhoadie527

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm pretty new to brewing (Have brewed a couple of single gallon batches of Ale and Cider) and have finally tried to move up to a 5 gallon batch. I'm trying to make a cream ale, and read somewhere that it might be a good idea to use Lager Yeast.
So I bought a packet of S-23 yeast, did my thing, pitched it in when it was about room temperature (maybe 65F), stirred it and let it do it's thing.

Where I live, it drops down to about 40 degrees at night this time of year, so I figured I was good. Unfortunately, a heat wave came in and it was 90 degrees for a day and a half before dropping down to about 65/45.

I pitched the yeast about 9 days ago, and there has been only a tiny bit of activity, so I pitched in another yeast packet about 4 days ago, and still, little to no visible fermentation.

Is my brew salvageable? (Picture included)

20130916_171208.jpg

What was your OG? What is the gravity now? That's the only way to know what's going on fermentation-wise.

yep, you are just guessing if you are trying to determine whether you have active fermentation without gravity readings. Are you using a hydrometer?

Your picture seems to show a krausen ring in the upper-right and lower-right corners of the photo which would indicate fermentation has occurred. Additionally, the surface of your brew looks like my beers when they are off-gassing. I'm guessing that due to your high heat and use of lager yeast (at high heats) that fermentation took place VERY quickly in such a lower gravity beer (it might have taken place that quick in a moderate gravity beer as well at those temps). You may as well pull a sample and get a FG reading and taste it too.