Fermentation closet too cold

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jack1

Reaction score
Hi all I am a college student with a very small amount of disposable income and I need to figure out how to raise the temperature of my fermentation closet a few degrees. My house will generally sit at around 60 degrees or so but can drop down to 50 and sometimes even lower if nobody is in the house for a while. How do people generally keep their brew warm in the winter?

ya I was looking at that and considering it but if I do that I can only have one beer fermenting at a time and right now I have three and i dont really want to drop seventy five dollars (the one that I saw last was about 25 for one) if that's what I have to do, I guess I could cut down on my brewing a bit but really what I'm trying to do is crowd-source an idea to warm the whole closet
and do i have to worry about my bottles too? or are they less susceptible to the cold temps

You could always put a grow lamp in the closet and hook it up to a temp control unit attached to a thermometer in your fermentation buckets/carboys.

Probably cost you more than the heat belt though.

just checked out the fan... thats really cheap! pretty much exactly what I was looking for it says It has a thermostat will it cut out when the room reached like 70 or something or do I need a controller

eBay aquarium temp controller (STC-1000) ~$20 and a reptile ceramic heat bulb ~$15-20. Search the forum for specifics on wiring up the temp controller, it isn't too hard.

Grow lamp wouldn't be advisable, since it would give off a lot of UV light.

You can also use Christmas Lights, like good old Craigtube.

Last edited by a moderator: