Favorite way to add coffe to stouts?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vanwolfhausen

Reaction score
I have always added at Flame out and had great results. But, was thinking of trying this time adding course crushed beans to secondary for a week. Then I was going to try cold brewed coffee at keg time. I am doing 10gallon batch and have little less than 2lbs of beans which were very expensive. Only thing I am working on now is amounts and how to sanitize beans added to secondary and keg?

I'm no expert and have never tried a coffee stout, but wouldn't the natural oils in the crushed coffee beans in the secondary affect the head retention of your finished beer? On the other hand, I guess the oils would be present if added to the boil as well unless the heat of the wort breaks them down somehow. . . Like I said, I've never tried either technique. I'm just thinking out loud here.

Interesting... I'll have to try that at some point...

Another home brewer, that I know, makes coffee for his priming solution (obviously adding sugars to it)... He says it gives a nice flavor to the stout, probably more of a background than a coffee smack.

I think it all depends on how much coffee flavor you want to add. You could try brewing some, letting it cool, and add it to the fermenter (once fermentation is complete of course). Give it a few days, or a week, to blend in and taste. Brew it strong, so that you don't need to add as much liquid to the brew. You could also brew up some to use in priming.

I'm planning a mocha stout, which will use coffee and cacao nibs (cracked/crushed) in it... Still working on when to add the cacao nibs, but thinking it will be post primary fermentation. I might brew up a half pot with the nibs, and add that along with the brewed coffee.