Easy tap beehive, is this cool or what?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
First off, I am no expert on beekeeping but have one hive. I am not sure how this design works. When bees produce honey they fill comb with the fresh honey and cap the individual cell with comb, storing the honey for later use. There is never honey flowing around in the hive. When you harvest honey, you remove a frame of fully capped honey, cut off the caps and drain honey, usually in a spinning extractor.

So, I guess my main concern with the design is how does it prevent the bees from capping the honey in the comb?

Doesn't. As I understand it, it taps the comb from the back, without disturbing the bees. Not continuously, but when you decide you want to.

I think you will have to uncap the comb to ensure a no suction flow but it looks like a very smart and feasible idea.

That looks pretty cool. Is it maybe harvesting the uncapped honey(nectar) in the comb? No wax or chunks of stuff coming out the tube. Must have some kind of build in filter. Honey coming out the end of a hive would soon have about a thousand bees covering it and drowning in all that sticky stuff. Some one besides me needs to give to their Kickstart page and tell us about it.

Right you are Honeycon. I didn't think about how the bees would react to the scent of honey outside the hive, much less robber bees.

The idea looks appealing but I need to see some design or pictures of the guts of this thing.