East Coast Syle IPA Advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rlonardo

EngiBEERing Since 2012
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm planning to brew an East Coast Syle IPA next week and was hoping to get some pointers before I fully commit (i.e. mash in).

Take a gander at the recipe below - my goal is a handsomely cloudy (NOT murky) IPA that has that fruit explosion that you get from the East Coast type IPA. My main questions:

- How do the hop additions look? I have limited experience with whirlpool so I'm not quite sure how much to add...

- I am going to use store bought RO water - what additions should I add? What should my mineral targets be for this type of ale?

- The Gigayeast GY054 Vermont Ale - anyone have any experience with it? Is it slow? Explosive? What is the ideal temperature to coax a few fruity esters out of that sucker?

Any assistance would be MUCH appreciated!

BeerSmith 2 Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: ECIPA001
Brewer: RLonardo
Asst Brewer:
Style: American IPA
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (30.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 7.04 gal
Post Boil Volume: 6.24 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.75 gal
Bottling Volume: 5.00 gal
Estimated OG: 1.062 SG
Estimated Color: 5.6 SRM
Estimated IBU: 142.5 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 78.3 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
11 lbs Vienna Malt (3.5 SRM) Grain 1 83.8 %
1 lbs 8.0 oz Oats, Flaked (Briess) (1.4 SRM) Grain 2 11.4 %
10.0 oz Carapils (Briess) (1.5 SRM) Grain 3 4.8 %
0.75 oz Columbus/Tomahawk/Zeus (CTZ) [15.00 %] - Hop 4 34.6 IBUs
2.50 oz Calypso [14.90 %] - Steep/Whirlpool 25. Hop 5 39.9 IBUs
2.50 oz Mosaic (HBC 369) [11.90 %] - Steep/Whirl Hop 6 31.8 IBUs