E-HERMS 55gal System BCS

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ElNess

Reaction score
Hello Homebrewtalk family!

I have been brewing all-grain now for about 3 years with my small 5gal system, but now it is time to step into the big leagues! So I am looking at building a 55gal system out of some new 55gal SS barrels I have gotten. I find myself to be rather handy when it comes to plumbing, basic mechanics and basic electrical (sub-panels, outlet and so forth) but then it comes to the advanced electronics of semi-automated control panel I find myself at a loss.

Theres what am looking at doing, I want to build a E-HERMS 50amp brewing system with 2 4500w heating elements in both the HLT and the BK (for a total of 4 4500w elements), BCS-462 and 2 pumps.

I have look at all the forms, diagrams and schematics I could find regarding this but it would seem I have to "mash" a lot of them together to make my system work. PJ diagram and the tutorials from theelectricbrewery website, but like I said I have to piece these all together.

Looking at PJ diagram it would seem I just have to change the 40amp ssr to 80amps, add a few more fuses and bob is your uncle. I do know there is more I just don't see it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

How large are your batches going to be? I'd be pretty surprised if you can heat 40 gal+ with 9000W. Someone else can do the math, but at the very least you'd be spending a lot of time "waiting".

There was a cool 3 phase build using large stainless drums, but that's probably beyond what most homeowners can get access to.

So - how big you going?