E-Brew Newb Looking for RIMS Advice!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

specharka

Reaction score
Hi everybody!

First and foremost I have to say what an invaluable resource this community is, especially in DIY projects. I am no stranger to homebrewing but a complete novice in electrical wiring, and I'm looking for some help building a simple RIMS control panel.

I am planning on making a small control panel to use with a RIMS tube and the existing 20A 120V GFCI service to perform step mashes with my Igloo cooler MLT. The system would consist of a heating element, pump, and RTD. From what I gather, I would need the following components for a simple CP:
1) PID controller, Auber SYL-2362 or equivalent
2) 25-40A SSR, with external heat sink
3) switches
4) contactors
5) terminal blocks
6) LEDs
7) electrical project box

The wiring diagrams i researched here and through the Electric Brewery seem pretty simple to follow, but I'm having some trouble picking through the rest of the puzzle. What tools do you need to wire the electrical box safely? What other consumable materials are required? What other components are necessary to wire the pump, element, and RTD to the box?

I do have some experience with DIY projects (keezer, temperature controller), so I'd like to expand on those skills. I'm not savvy with soldering at all, so I'd like to avoid it if possible.

I'd appreciate any help from you guys on this one before I blow the $600+ required to make the e-brewing jump. Thanks!

Check out this link in from my local homebrew club. I have a new controller now, but use this RIMS tube to this day.
http://www.stlbrews.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=3109

Sold a few controllers - here's a link to a video one guy made using the system.