Dry vs Liquid Yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CatsCradle

Reaction score
Hi all, im new to the mead making process. Reading over some guides and recipes the majority call for using dry yeast with a go ferm pack to rehydrate. Is there a difference in flavor, quality, and process between the two types of yeasts, dry vs liquid? To me it seems like it would be quicker to just use the liquid and skip over the rehydrating and go-ferm steps.

Hi all, im new to the mead making process. Reading over some guides and recipes the majority call for using dry yeast with a go ferm pack to rehydrate. Is there a difference in flavor, quality, and process between the two types of yeasts, dry vs liquid? To me it seems like it would be quicker to just use the liquid and skip over the rehydrating and go-ferm steps.
I've had good results using dry yeast in mead including an 18% 18 year old cherry mead that is great. I don't think I rehydrated.
Using liquid yeast would most likely require a starter that takes more time and effort than rehydrating dry yeast.

the only real difference I see is there is a greater selection of liquid yeast out there.
Also, most of my yeast is already liquid in canning jars in my fridge and I always sprinkle some DME on them when I pull out of the fridge a day before so not a big deal to need a starter with liquid yeast for me.

Rehydrating dry yeast is not the same as a starter for liquid yeast.
Ok just realized! Could someone just use the liquid yeast (without a starter) rather than rehydrated dry yeast or would the liquid yeast have trouble fermenting ?

Ok just realized! Could someone just use the liquid yeast (without a starter) rather than rehydrated dry yeast or would the liquid yeast have trouble fermenting ?