Dry-Hopping / Sediment / Bottling Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drlars

Reaction score
Okay, so I am planning on bottling my split-batch IPA (half citra, half amarillo) tonight. I used a Two-Hearted clone partial-mash malt bill (O.G. = 1.072). American Ale II yeast with a starter. They've been fermenting for four weeks total now. And for the last week, I've been dry-hopping each in their respective 2.5-gal fermentors with hop pellets and marbels in nylon mesh bags. (This is my first attempt at dry-hopping.)

For the last 4 days, they've been 'cool'-crashing in the basement. So I bring them up today in preparation for bottling tonight. Except when I look at them now, the airlock seems to be active again. Plus, I can see streams of CO2 bubbles coming off of the sediment (which was agitated a lot more than usual with the marble bags when I transported them).

Does anyone know if CO2 simply gets trapped in the sediment, or should I be worried about bottle-bombs? I mean, its been four weeks......

CO2 is less soluble in warm liquid than cold, which is why a warm bottle of beer/soda can be messy to open. You're seeing CO2 leave the beer as it warms up. No big deal. The sediment is a nice nucleation site.

I'm no scientist so I could be wrong on this (fair warning). The yeast reaction does produce CO2 and alcohol during fermentation. As I understand it, some of that CO2 does dissolve into the product. I don't find it unusual at all that you see some CO2 fizz.

If you agitated things by dragging your carboy upstairs, I'm not surprised that the airlock bubbled a tad. Just CO2 escaping. The change in temperature could probably also cause the gas in the headspace to expand.