Dry hopping - Limiting O2

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MaximumTrainer

Reaction score
I'm brewing my first beer (IPA) and just inserted my dry hop in the primary bucket.

I'm a newbie but read that Oxygen is not a friend of the beer, so is there a way to avoid inserting lot of oxygen when you put your dry hop into your fermentation bucket?

I waited that the airlock stopped making bubbles before inserting the hop bag into the primary, I had to unlock the lid to put the bag inside, probably inserting lot of oxygen in there.

Just want to know if this will impact the taste of the beer, and if there is a way to improve my dry hopping technique. Maybe inserting the hop bag before fermentation is 100% complete so that yeast consume to Oxygen inserted?
https://byo.com/stories/issue/item/3187-advanced-dry-hopping-techniques

Thanks!

Fermentation creates a nice layer of CO2 in the headspace. If you carefully pry open the bucket, quickly drop in your hops, then seal it up, you should be able to limit the amount of O2 that gets in without disturbing the CO2 much.

As long as you're not keeping the lid off for an extended period of time, you should be OK. The way you did it is how I've been doing it since I started almost 2 years ago. Except I usually wait a week and a half to 2 weeks into primary before adding my dry hop. I like to add them about 5-7 days before bottling to maintain as much hop aroma as I possibly can. If you have a CO2 tank, you can flush the deadspace in the fermenter before putting the lid back on. That will eliminate any oxygen that may have gotten in.