Does this look like Brett contamination?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bairdo

Reaction score
I'm now up to 6 all grain batches. All of which taste bad :( Some still drinkable but this last batch is not. I have no experience tasting off flavours but my mate who brews reckoned it tasted bitter/sour/just plain awful and smelt bad too.

I dropped in to a brew pub yesterday to drink some of what I can't seem to make yet and it came up that I was fermenting in an old fridge. He immediately mentioned Brett contamination suggesting that's probably where my off taste is coming from. I should also mention my fridge is under the house - and Auckland is fairly humid most of the time.

In the latest batch (epic pale ale clone) 3-4 bottles had a ring of scum in the neck and had a fair amount of funkiness going on at the bottom of the bottle. When I opened these bottles they volcano'd everywhere. However bottles without the scum ring open without issues - still taste like arse though.

Here is a pic of one of those bottles before it was opened.

The neck
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/photo/brett-64008.html

The bottom
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/photo/brett-64009.html

I have a brew fermenting right now which as of last night was moved out of the fridge under the house and into the vacuum cleaner cupboard inside. It won't have a nice temp controlled fermentation but hopefully its drinkable this time!